Home > Poetry > Be Careful With Your Cable

Be Careful With Your Cable

Be Careful With Your Cable

Some girlfriends just don’t understand
How to treat a poetry writing man.
Some let me give some tips to you
Poetry writing men just what to do.

Girlfriends come and girlfriends go.
Don’t let them pay for cable though!
When they get mad, you won’t suspect it,
Your cable they will disconnect it.

One minute your computer will work just fine.
The next minute you are off line.
Then you lose your television, too
And you have to just sit there with nothing to view.

You didn’t buy that new antenna kit
Because with cable you didn’t need it.
And the cable company thinks its funny
Because they get to make more money.

But you are running low and you can’t pay,
So you have to wait until payday.
Then when you take them what they say you owe,
They find out about that unpaid bill from two years ago.

Now unless you want to wait another week,
You go to your boss and speak
To him about getting an advance on your check.
At first he says “No,” then he says what the heck.

So cable television you now can get.
Your computer is back on the internet
And the lesson for all poetry writing men
Is don’t put cable in the name of your girlfriend.

Even Poets have to put up with “Real Life” sometimes.  This is what happened to me.  When my girlfriend first moved in she was very excited about being with a Poet.  She said it was mysterious. Then she started not liking my poetry or the time I was spending writing it. So I threw it all away to make her happy. Then, when I started writing again she got mad and left.   She had the cable turned off and didn’t tell me. So, if you are a Poet and use the internet keep the cable in your own name even if you have to use your income tax refund.

Categories: Poetry Tags: , , ,
  1. JBean
    March 25, 2010 at 1:08 am

    This poem is very sad. It made me cry. But then, I cry a lot. I cry when I have to stop for a red light. I cry when they forget to give me extra ketchup at the McDonald’s drive-thru.

    I cry for you, Mr. Stanz, for the tragic loss of your cable. I cry that you even have to pay for cable. Life’s not fair, so I cry.

  2. March 25, 2010 at 12:42 pm

    Oh no, please don’t cry. It all worked out fine. This is just “one of those things” Poets have to go through. It is just hard to type poetry on my phone.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

